9

Nemyr's Duty

When space gods collide
9
Images created on Playgroundai

Nemyr watched the last of her kind, save only herself, die as she fled the final battle from her place of hiding. It had shamed her to hide. It broke her to run, though it had been her commander’s final order.

The gods of space had warred for millennia, though it made no sense to Nemyr. Space was so vast, with room for hundreds, no thousands of god-species to rule without ever having to encounter one another.

And yet, here they had ended, all but dragonkind vanquished. Dragons had always been insatiable in their territorial greed. One by one, they had vanquished those who stood against them. By the time alliances had formed, they had become too powerful to oppose.

Yet opposing them had been the only option. Their knowledge of turtlekind’s existence meant they would never stop hunting them. Not until they were extinct. As they now appeared to be.

Nemyr fled far, through galaxy after galaxy, farther than any turtle had ever ventured, until, finally, she came to a barren world on which she would create a home for the children who would hatch from the eggs she would soon lay.

Here, the turtle gods would rise anew, in secret, far from the ravages of eternal war and final doom. Here lay Nemyr’s final hope.


When I created the space dragons and turtles on Playgroundai, I thought they could somehow come together in a story. I had previously written one in which dragons were threatened. This time I made them the aggressors.

If you missed it, you can read “Hope” here. 👇

Eclectic Ink
Hope
The flames burning in Fedyth’s eyes banked to embers and her lips curled in satisfaction as she watched her enemy burn from the inside out and his grey corpse crumble to ash onto the stone beneath them before spreading her wings and taking to the skies to continue her watch. She scanned the horizon for threats to this last bastion of dragon and humankind. Threats to her queen and her eggs, the first in a century. The last hope of dragonkind…
Read more

I’ve been experimenting with videos for my images, using a phone app called YouCut video editor. I’m really green with it still, but enjoying the learning process.

I didn’t realize when I started writing this story that Substack would place the video above my title. I guess it might make sense to do so if it were for a blog, but I was really hoping it would stand in as my image. Writer friends, do you know of a way to insert videos from a computer where you want them to go?

For my free subscribers: did you get a message saying to subscribe to watch the video? I set this to free, but the preview for free subscribers had a subscribe to watch button. Please let me know, as, if that’s what you saw, I want to approach Substack about fixing it.


Music: Someday
Musician: Alexander Delarge
URL: https://icons8.com/music

9 Comments
Authors
Dascha Paylor