9 Comments
Jul 5, 2022Liked by Dascha Paylor

I know I'm in some state of shock, not only about this decision but also about so many others coming out of both Canadian and American courts right now. Loss of faith in what was once a highly respected position.

Expand full comment

Thanks for sharing this in your newsletter. I can't help thinking that artists have to play a part in confronting the crisis--either directly or indirectly (we all need some escapism). I've been thinking a lot about what Rod Serling did with the Twilight Zone. He used sci-fi to talk about a lot of the issues of his day in a way the bypassed censors.

Expand full comment

Writing fiction about completely unrelated topics has been the only way for me to escape/stay sane (now more than ever). I can’t help but feel like I’m caught in some absurd episode of The Twilight Zone. It’s terrifying on many levels.

I feel the same way, Dascha, regarding everything you’ve mentioned. Thank you for sharing this newsletter. 🙏

Expand full comment

Heather Cox Richardson's newsletter is informative and important.

Expand full comment